me, them, and the Bible

I love learning. I always enjoyed school. In fact, if I had the opportunity I would go back for more. There are many fields of study I would enjoy learning more about.  And the idea of becoming an “expert” in a field is quite alluring to a nerd like me.

In this stage of life, what I would like to be an expert most in is parenting!  I want to know all the best developmental activities for my kids so they are the brightest and the best.  I want to know the “right” response in any situation, especially those situations that come as a surprise.  I want to know the most effective methods of instilling values in my kids and saturating their hearts in the Gospel.

So I learn.  I’ve read a lot of parenting materials (started far more than I’ve finished).  I’ve attended conferences.  And I’m no stranger to the phone-a-friend lifeline to gather wisdom and answers from more experienced moms. I’m a resource junkie.

Lately, God has been prodding my heart, turning my attention to something huge–I have minimized the Bible.  Why do I turn first to books, conferences, or friends when I have a parenting dilemma before drenching myself in Scripture? I believe His Word is true.  I use it.  However, I find myself using it as merely a supplement. And even then, I prefer the cliffs notes version that enables me to get to the point without spending too much of my time.  Why do you think Bible publishers started putting topical indexes at the beginning of their Bibles? Most people aren’t interested in reading the whole book, we just want answers.  We want verses that make us feel better.  We want what the Bible can give to us.  What’s in it for me?

The problem with this is that the Bible is not a supplemental resource.  The Bible contains the divine, authoritative, spoken words of God! Every word in the Bible was spoken purposefully and intentionally by God and carries great power.  Paul tells Timothy in his letter,

But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:14-17 ESV)

Wow.

The ESV Study Bible notes highlight the phrase equipped for every good work, and comment that, “In a broad sense this includes everything that God calls a believer to do. But, in a specific sense, this also supports the doctrine of the “sufficiency of Scripture,” that is, the idea that the truth contained in Scripture is sufficient in all matters pertaining to doctrine and moral behavior.”

This reminds me of the countless times I sat in a room with other Christians answering the icebreaker question, “If you were stranded on a deserted island and could only have 1 item, what would it be?”  Everyone knows the “best” answer is the Bible.  So should you say the Bible? Nah, that would be cheesy.  You don’t want to go with the churchy answer, especially if it’s not really true.  You need to be more creative.  But you don’t want to be the girl who says, “my flat iron,” either.  Come on.  A) There are no outlets on deserted islands.  B) The island is deserted! No one is there to see what your hair looks like.  And C) There are no mirrors!

(Okay, so maybe most of you have no idea what I’m talking about, but if you are also a Baylor Bear, I’m sure you are totally tracking!)

I want to answer without hesitation, “the Bible.”  And I want to mean it.  I want to be caught up and romanced by the most intimate, life-giving, powerful words ever spoken.  I want to believe passionately that the Scripture is sufficient.

Have you ever read a book you just couldn’t put down?  Maybe you stayed up all night reading until you finished.  Think about this: what if we were captivated by the Bible the way the nation is captivated by The Hunger Games? (No jab here.  I’ve heard the books are amazing, but I have a newborn and can’t afford to lose anymore sleep!).  The Hunger Games may have the power to entertain on massive levels.  But the Bible has the power to make wise for salvation in Jesus and to complete and equip for every good work! 

All of this to say, I’m beginning a journey.  I’m committing to live Biblically.  I want to be a wife Biblically.  I want to parent Biblically.  I want to behave Biblically.  I want to make decisions Biblically… Today I may know very little about what the Bible says about all these things.  I know a lot about what people and books have told me that it says, but I haven’t ingested it myself.

I will be starting a new blog soon that will be narrowly focused on marriage and parenting in the first 5 years.   My desire is to discuss values established in the first five years that can lay a foundation for the next 50 years–according to Scripture.  I want to search through the Bible and talk about marriage and parenting issues according to the knowledge and perspective of the perfect Husband and Father.  God.  He is enough. His Word is enough.

As I approach my fifth anniversary with my husband, as a mom now with 2 kids, I am going to be reflecting on my family’s experiences and drenching myself in what the Bible says. Come with me on the journey.  It’s just me, them, and the Bible.  

Check back for a new link coming soon.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

