How To Steer a Hot Air Balloon

Most of the time God speaks to me through images He puts in my mind or through catching my attention with something in my natural world.  Just the other day He spoke something very significant to me through the hole in my TOMS shoes made by my big toes.  Yesterday, as I was asking God about a directional piece to my life, He put an image of a hot air balloon in my mind and said that He is the wind.  So naturally, I googled how to steer hot air balloons.  These are the first two sentences I read: “The short answer is that you don’t.  However, it isn’t as uncontrolled as that might seem.”

What I learned is this: a hot air balloon pilot gathers weather reports and releases small helium balloons to determine wind direction and speed, paying attention to the differences in the layers of wind at different altitudes.  Then, after deciding whether these conditions are safe to fly in, the pilot chooses a launch site based on his findings that will carry his balloon to the appropriate landing site.  He doesn’t just launch from anywhere, but the launch site is specifically and carefully chosen.  

Do you ever feel like the place you are in was not part of the plan?  You were supposed to go from point A to point B and now you find yourself somewhere completely off the map. Did you choose the wrong life map?  Was one of your key decisions a wrong one? Did you misunderstand your calling and vision?  I am quite familiar with all of these questions.

Maybe I heard God wrong.  Or, maybe the movement of God would not have carried me from the launch site I planned to fly from to my desired landing site.  Maybe He had to take me first to a new launch site.  There may actually be many more launch sites ahead of me, just to get me to the 1 that the winds of God can carry me from to the landing site I am longing for!

For still the vision awaits its appointed time; it hastens to the end–it will not lie.  If it seems slow, wait for it; it will surely come; it will not delay.” Habakkuk 2:3

Like the hot air balloon pilot, who rather than focus on a landing site or the flight itself, chooses to focus on seeking out the movement of the wind, I want to to choose to focus on seeking out the moves of God, rather than focus on the end goal or even the journey itself.

Truly, truly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of his own accord, but only what he sees the Father doing. For whatever the Father does, that the Son does likewise. John 5:19

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How To Steer a Hot Air Balloon

  1. Rachel says:

    this passage (and journey) is what I experienced for at least 7 years of my 20’s…I’m feelin’ ya. Thanks for sharing what you’re seeing & learning…it’s great stuff!

Leave a Reply

